Kenya

Le Kenya est une ancienne colonie de la Grande-Bretagne. Aujourd'hui, c'est le pays en développement le plus rapide de l'Afrique de l'est. La langue anglaise est l'une des langues officielles du pays. Cela a joué un rôle vital dans son développement rapide, car il facilite la communication pour les touristes, et rend le pays plus attractif pour les étrangers. Le slogan "Magical Kenya" n'est pas seulement une astuce publicitaire, c'est la réalité dont chacun peut faire l'expérience. Cependant, ce monde magique peut cacher beaucoup de dangers réels que les nouveaux arrivants peuvent rencontrer et des précautions spéciales doivent être prises avant et pendant votre voyage. Afin de rendre votre voyage sûr, SafeAround a compilé des informations de nombreuses sources. Assurez-vous que vous voyagez en toute sécurité au Kenya et soyez conscient de tous les dangers potentiels. Le Kenya est le 116èmeTh pays le plus sûr au monde, basé sur le classement des pays les plus sûrs et les plus dangereux.    

Indice de sécurité

Voir les villes dans ce pays

Les parcs nationaux au Kenya avec une flore unique et trouve harmoniquement combine avec des plages de sable fantastique, font du pays un endroit idéal pour des vacances à couper le souffle. Nous voudrions mentionner juste quelques-unes des raisons, pour lesquelles tout le monde devrait une fois dans sa vie visiter le Kenya. Tout d'abord, le pays occupe les terrritoires d'où a émergé la civilisation sur la planète terre. Deuxièmement, sa faune est absolument fantastique, de sorte que vous pouvez découvrir toutes les espèces rares en un seul endroit, comme les éléphants, les lions, les léopards, les buffles et les rhinocéros. En outre, les possibilités de plongée sont parmi les plus belels au monde. De nombreux récifs coralliens avec la faune authentique de l'océan Indien vous donneront une expérience inoubliable, reconnue parmi les plus pittoresques dans le monde par de nombreux plongeurs professionnels. Cependant, le Kenya est un pays avec des risques potentiels élevés, bien que les centres des villes principales soient sûrs pendant la journée. Le crime violent est courant au Kenya, y compris les enlèvements, les agressions, le vol à main armée, les cambriolages. La sécurité routière est également un problème. Afin d'éviter tout problème, un niveau élevé de prudence est recommandé, tout au long de votre séjour dans le pays, peu importe où vous êtes. Les crimes de rue sont la principale préoccupation, surtout à Nairobi et à Mombasa. Les criminels utilisent des armes et n'hésitent pas à les utiliser si vous leur résistez. Selon la statistique la plupart des victimes, s'en sortent indemnes si elles sont coopératives. Se promener à pied en ville augmente les risques d'être volé dans le centre-ville, les parcs publics, les plages et les zones mal éclairées surtout la nuit. Les visiteurs sont avisés de ne pas porter des objets de valeur, des cartes de crédit/débit, mais plutôt de les mettre en sûreté à l'hôtel. N'utilisez que des guichets automatiques aux banques, hôtels et autres lieux sécurisés. Il y a des cas fréquents de touristes qui, sous la menace d'une arme de poing, ont été forcés de retirer l'argent avec leurs cartes de crédit, y compris en étant séquéstrés pendant la nuit pour effecture des retraits additionnels.

Nairobi

La capitale du Kenya est réputée être un endroit dangereux pour voyager, mais exercer un niveau élevé de prudence pourrait presque éliminer tous les risques d'être volé ou agressé. En général, les rues piétonnes, les centres commerciaux et autres sites du centre-ville pendant la journée sont aussi sûrs que les rues de n'importe quelle grande ville. Si vous cherchez des endroits inhabituels à visiter, la zone de bidonvilles de Kibera pourrait être intéressante pour certains touristes, mais y aller seul est trop risqué. Il existe de nombreux guides, qui pourraient vous organiser une visite sécurisée. Pendant la nuit, il est fortement recommandé de voyager uniquement en taxis et en groupes. Ne vous aventurez pas dans les quartiers potentiellement dangereux. En particulier :

Mathare

Pendant la journée, cette zone est absolument sûre et calme. Cependant, après un coucher de soleil, elle se transforme en zone violente. Ce quartier est un refuge pour de nombreux voleurs.

Mukuru Kayaba

Dans ce quartier, tous les passants pourraient être attaqués s'ils attirent l'attention. Donc, ce n'est certainement pas la zone où se promener pour tous les touristes à la fois pendant la journée et la nuit.

Kawangware (Congo)

La situation y est si pauvre que même la police locale recommande de penser trois fois avant d'entrer dans la zone. Selon les résidents, il y a deux groupes clés qui terrorisent les habitants et tout nouveau visiteur. SafeAround recommande de s'abstenir de visiter cette zone.

Huruma

Ce quartier cache des dangers évidents. Les adolescents que vous pourriez considérer inoffensifs sont ceux qui pourraient vous attaquer. Huruma est certainement une zone à éviter.

D'autres lieux à éviter :

La frontière entre la Somalie et le Kenya est censée être extrêmement risquée en raison de l'activité du groupe terroriste Al-Shabaab dans ce secteur. Les voyages ne sont pas recommandés dans les comtés kenyans suivants: Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Tana River, Lama, zones au nord de Malindi. À Mombasa (deuxième plus grande ville au Kenya) la visite de la vieille ville est recommandée seulement en plein jour. Souvenez vous: Évitez les zones de danger, faites preuve de bon sens et soyez vigilants aux activités suspectes, ceci peut éliminer complètement tous les risques potentiels.

Avertissements et dangers

Mid Priority-96 Risque global: Haute

Le Kenya est un pays moyennement sûr – certaines parties sont sûres, d'autres très dangereuses. Il est classé 116èmeTh sur 162 sur le classement des pays les plus sûrs et les plus dangereux.

Mid Priority-96 Risque pickpockets: Haute

Comme toute destination touristique populaire, il y a un risque élevé de pickpocket au Kenya, en particulier dans les transports publics. Matatus-type de transport public opéré par des individus sont aimés par les pickpockets. Cependant, nous avons conseillé d'utiliser les taxis au lieu de tout type de transport public au Kenya.

Mid Priority-96 Risque d'agression: Haute

Le risque d'enlèvement et d'agression est élevé. Soyez conscient des zones dangereuses que nous avons mentionnées ci-dessus et évitez d'être dans les régions éloignées seulement après la noirceur. La majorité des enlèvements se produisent près de la frontière somalienne.

Mid Priority-96 Risques d'escroqueries: Haute

Les risques d'escroquerie sont relativement faibles.

Mid Priority-96 TRANSPORT et taxis risque: Haute

Matatus – (mini bus) généralement exploités en privé est souvent arrêté par des criminels. Safe autour recommande ne pas utiliser ce type de transport, autant que possible. Il n'est pas recommandé de voyager entre les heures de pointe entre 6 h 00 et 9 h 00 et le soir entre 5 h 00 et 20 heures. En raison des préoccupations de sécurité en utilisant le ferry Likoni à Nairobi pourrait être très risqué. Les accidents sur les routes, bien que fréquents ne sont généralement pas mortels à moins que les piétons ou matatus sont impliqués. Les conditions routières et de conduite sont médiocres partout au pays. Maintenez toujours au moins un demi réservoir de gaz et faites savoir aux parents au sujet de vos plans de voyage.

Mid Priority-96 Catastrophes naturelles risque: Haute

Pendant les saisons pluvieuses, les inondations peuvent se produire sans avertissement, perturber le transport et les communications.

Mid Priority-96 Risque de terrorisme: Haute

La possibilité d'attentats terroristes au Kenya a une probabilité modérée, cependant, vous devriez surveiller les activités suspectes. Le terrorisme est une menace dans le monde entier.

Mid Priority-96 Femmes voyageurs risque: Haute

Les agressions sexuelles se produisent et passent souvent inédits. Depuis ces dernières années, les agressions sexuelles contre les hommes ont été une tendance croissante. Nous conseillons de suivre des précautions de sécurité élevées et d'éviter de visiter les zones non touristiques la nuit.  

Carte

Informations utiles

Les visas ne sont pas requis pour les nationalités suivantes: Bahamas, Barbade, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Chypre, Dominique, Éthiopie, Fidji, Gambie, Ghana, Grenade, Jamaïque, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaisie, Maldives, Maurice, Namibie, Nauru, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Rwanda, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Saint Lucia Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Samoa, Saint-Marin, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapour, Iles Salomon, Afrique du Sud, Swaziland, Tanzanie, Tonga, Trinité-et-Tobago, Tuvalu, Ouganda, Vanuatu, Zambie et Zimbabwe. Les ressortissants de Malaisie et d'Afrique du Sud peuvent entrer pour 30 jours sans visa, toutes les autres nations spécifiées peuvent entrer pour 90 jours sans visa. En outre, les ressortissants rwandais et ougandais peuvent entrer au Kenya en utilisant leurs cartes d'identité nationales au lieu d'un passeport. Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Rwanda, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Samoa, Saint-Marin, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapour, Iles Salomon, Afrique du Sud, Swaziland, Tanzanie, Tonga, Trinité-et-Tobago, Tuvalu, Ouganda, Vanuatu, Zambie et au Zimbabwe. Les ressortissants de Malaisie et d'Afrique du Sud peuvent entrer pour 30 jours sans visa, toutes les autres nations spécifiées peuvent entrer pour 90 jours sans visa. En outre, les ressortissants rwandais et ougandais peuvent entrer au Kenya en utilisant leurs cartes d'identité nationales au lieu d'un passeport. Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Rwanda, Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Samoa, Saint-Marin, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapour, Iles Salomon, Afrique du Sud, Swaziland, Tanzanie, Tonga, Trinité-et-Tobago, Tuvalu, Ouganda, Vanuatu, Zambie et au Zimbabwe. Les ressortissants de Malaisie et d'Afrique du Sud peuvent entrer pour 30 jours sans visa, toutes les autres nations spécifiées peuvent entrer pour 90 jours sans visa. En outre, les ressortissants rwandais et ougandais peuvent entrer au Kenya en utilisant leurs cartes d'identité nationales au lieu d'un passeport. Les visas sont disponibles à l'achat à l'entrée dans les aéroports internationaux et aux frontières terrestres pour presque toutes les nationalités. Il ya une ligne distincte à l'immigration pour ceux qui ont besoin de visas touristiques. Aucune photo n'est exigée, juste $50 USD, €40 EUR ou £30 GBP en espèces pour le paiement.
La monnaie officielle est le Shilling du Kenya. Afin d'obtenir le meilleur échange de devises possible, essayez d'échanger votre argent dans des banques de bonne réputation. Ne jamais convertir l'argent dans les rues, ils sont susceptibles d'être un piège.
Le climat dans le pays est varié par l'emplacement. Le long du littoral, le climat est tropical. La température diurne du Kenya est moyenne entre 20 ° c et 28 ° c. L'Afrique du Sud ne connaît pas vraiment quatre saisons distinctes.
Les aéroports les plus achalandés du Kenya sont Jomo de l'aéroport international de Nairobi. Plus d'informations sur l'aéroport, vous pouvez lire sur son site officiel.
Comme dans n'importe quel pays, nous conseillons aux voyageurs d'obtenir une assurance voyage qui couvre non seulement les problèmes médicaux, mais aussi le vol et la perte d'articles personnels. En savoir plus sur notre Page d'assurance voyage

Kenya

Kenya is the former colony of the Great Britain. Nowadays it is the fastest developing country in the East Africa. The English language is one of the official languages of the country. This played a vital role in its hawkish development, as it eases up the communication for tourists, and makes the country more attractive for foreigners. The tagline “Magical Kenya” is not just an advertising trick, it is the reality that anyone can experience. However, this magical world may hide lots of real hazards that newcomers may encounter and special precautions are to be taken prior and during your trip. In order to make your trip safe, SafeAround has compiled information from numerous sources make sure you have a safe trip to Kenya and be aware of all potential dangers. Kenya is the 116th safest country in the world, based on the safest and most dangerous countries ranking.    

SAFETY INDEX

See cities in this country

National parks in Kenya with unique flora and found harmonically combines with fantastic sandy beaches, making the country an ideal spot for a breathtaking vacation. We would like to mention just some of the reasons, why everyone should even once in his life visit Kenya. First of all, the country occupies the lands from where the first civilization in the world starts its being on the planet Earth. Secondly, its fauna is absolutely fantastic, so you can discover all rare species in one place, such as elephants, lions, leopards, buffaloes, and rhinoceros. Furthermore, diving opportunities are one of the unique in the whole world. Numerous coral reefs with the authentic fauna of the Indian ocean are ready to provide an unforgettable experience and acknowledge the most scenic in the world by many professional divers. However, Kenya is a country with high potential risks, although the centers of main cities are safe during the day. Violent crime is common in Kenya, including kidnapping, muggings, armed carjacking, burglaries. Road safety is also a problem. In order to avoid any troubles executing a high level of cautiousness is recommended, throughout all the time being in the country, no matter where you are. Street crimes are the main concern, especially in Nairobi and Mombasa. Criminals use weapons and quite boldly, therefore noncooperation is not recommended. According to the statistic most victims, if they are cooperative are realized unharmed. Walking along increases risks of being robbed in downtown, public parks, beaches and unlit areas particularly at night. Visitors are advised no to carry valuables, credit/debit cards but rather stole them in a deposit at the hotel. Use only ATM at banks, hotels and other secured places. There are known occurrences when under a gunpoint the victims were forced to withdraw money from there credit cards, even holding victims overnight for additional withdrawals.

Nairobi

The capital of Kenya is supposed to be an unsafe place to travel, however following a high level of cautiousness might almost eliminate any risks of being robed, mugged or pickpocketed. Generally, walking streets, shopping centers and other sites in the city center during the day is much like walking the streets in any large city. If you are looking some unordinary places to visit, a slum area of Kibera might be interesting to some tourists, however going there alone is too risky. There are exist numerous guides, that might organize you a secured visit. During the night, it’s highly recommended to travel only by taxis and in groups. Do not venture into the potentially dangerous neighborhoods. Main among them are:

Mathare

During the day light, this area is absolutely safe and quiet. However, after a sunset, it turns into the violent zone. This district is a shelter for many carjackers.

Mukuru Kayaba

In this neighborhood, every passerby might be attacked if he nicely looked. So, that is definitely no go area for any tourist both during the day and night.

Kawangware (Congo)

The situation there is so poor that even local police recommends thinking thrice before entering the zone. According to residents, there are two key groups terrorizing locals and any newcomer. SafeAround recommends refraining from visiting this area.

Huruma

This district hides some not obvious dangers. Teenagers who you’d easily called harmless are the ones that might hurt you. Huruma is definitely no go area.

Other areas of concern:

The border between Somalia and Kenya is supposed to be extremely risky due to al-Shabaab terrorist group activity in this area. Travel is not recommended to the following Kenyan counties: Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Tana River, Lama, areas north of Malindi. In Mombasa (second largest city in Kenya) the visit of Old Town is recommended only during the day light. Remember: Avoiding danger areas, exercising common sense and looking out for suspicious activity, may completely eliminate all potential risks.

Warnings & Dangers

Mid Priority-96 OVERALL RISK : HIGH

Kenya is an averagely safe country – some parts are safe, others very dangerous. It is ranked 116th out of 162 on the raking of the safest and most dangerous countries.

Mid Priority-96 PICKPOCKETS RISK : HIGH

As a popular touristic destination, there is a high pickpocket risk in Kenya, especially in public transport. Matatus – kind of public transport operated by individuals are loved by pickpockets. However, we advised to use taxis instead of any kind of public transport in Kenya.

Mid Priority-96 MUGGING RISK : HIGH

The risk of kidnapping and mugging is high. Be aware of dangerous zones we mentioned above and avoid being in remote areas alone after dark. The majority of kidnappings occur near the Somalia border.

Mid Priority-96 SCAMS RISK : HIGH

Scams risk are relatively low.

Mid Priority-96 TRANSPORT & TAXIS RISK : HIGH

Matatus – (mini buses) usually privately operated is frequently stopped by criminals. Safe Around recommends do not use this kind of transport, whenever possible. Travelling between rush hours is not recommended, between 6 a.m. and 9 a.m. and in the evening between 5 p.m and 8 p.m. Due to the safety concerns using of the Likoni ferry in Nairobi might be very risky. Accidents on the roads, while frequent are usually not fatal unless pedestrians or matatus are involved. Road and driving conditions are poor all over the country. Always maintain at least a half tank of gas and let relatives know about your travel plans.

Mid Priority-96 NATURAL DISASTERS RISK : HIGH

During rainy seasons, flooding can occur with no warning, disrupting transportation and communications.

Mid Priority-96 TERRORISM RISK : HIGH

The possibility of terrorist attacks in Kenya has a moderate probability, however, you should watch out for suspicious activity. Terrorism is a threat throughout the world.

Mid Priority-96 WOMEN TRAVELERS RISK : HIGH

Sexual assaults do occur and frequently goes unreported. Since recent years’ sexual assaults against men have been a growing trend. We advise to follow high safety precautions and avoid visiting any non-tourist areas at night.  

Carte

Useful Information

Visas are not required for the following nationalities: The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize,Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cyprus, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji, the Gambia, Ghana,Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore,Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago,Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Nationals of Malaysia and South Africa may enter for 30 days visa-free, all other nations specified may enter for 90 days visa-free. Additionally, nationals of Rwanda and Uganda may enter Kenya using their National Identification Cards in lieu of a passport. Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Nationals of Malaysia and South Africa may enter for 30 days visa-free, all other nations specified may enter for 90 days visa-free. Additionally, nationals of Rwanda and Uganda may enter Kenya using their National Identification Cards in lieu of a passport. Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore,Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago,Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Nationals of Malaysia and South Africa may enter for 30 days visa-free, all other nations specified may enter for 90 days visa-free. Additionally, nationals of Rwanda and Uganda may enter Kenya using their National Identification Cards in lieu of a passport. Visas are available for purchase on entry at international airports and at land borders for almost all nationalities. There is a separate line at immigration for those who require tourist visas. No photos are required, just $50 USD, €40 EUR or £30 GBP in cash for payment.
The official currency is Kenyan shilling. In order to obtain the best currency exchange possible, try to exchange your money in reputable banks. Never convert money on the streets, they’re likely to be a trick.
The climate in the country is various by the location. Along the coast climate is tropical. Kenya’s daytime temperatures average between 20°C and 28°C. South Africa does not really experience four distinct seasons.
The busiest airports of Kenya is Jomo Kenyatta International Airport in Nairobi. More information about the airport you may read on its official website.
As in any country, we advise travelers to get a travel insurance that covers not only medical problems but also theft and loss of personal items. Learn more on our travel insurance page