约翰内斯堡

约翰内斯堡的人口约有1000万人, 其中一半是镇上寒冷的索韦托的居民。一般来说, 约翰内斯堡应该是城市的经济枢纽, 大约10% 的南非国内生产总值在那里产生。由于不均等财富发行, 城市有它自己的边界, 因而生活条件是非常不同的。它们可以从世界第一标准到世界第三标准不等。 然而, 在约翰内斯堡有很多事情要发现, 没有必要避免, 因为高犯罪率, 因为遵循一般的安全防范措施无疑是有可能有一个安全和愉快的航程。 为了使您的旅行如此, SafeAround 汇集了有用的信息关于所有潜在的风险和危险邻里约翰内斯堡。 因此, 我们将允许您在地图上看到城市的最安全和潜在危险的地区, 关于诈骗和其他可能的风险的细节, 以及一些有用的旅游建议, 以不让任何东西破坏如此美妙的旅程, 以风景如画的南非珍宝。

安全指标

在南非看到其他城市

警告和危险

Priority-96总体风险:

约翰内斯堡在162个最危险的城市中名列第128。然而, 安全水平取决于区。因此, 如果你高度谨慎并避免陷入困境, 你在约翰内斯堡的假期可能只会被中央车站或星期六市场的小偷小摸所破坏。 然而, 在黑暗中, 犯罪率明显较高, 因此, 我们建议不要在夜间访问任何地区或更喜欢出租车选择旅游。

Priority-96扒手风险:

购物中心的扒窃是常见的。这是值得警惕你的周围, 不要离开你的宝贵的无人值守。市中心可能人满为患, 许多扒手在这个地区经营。

Priority-96抢劫风险:

抢劫和抢劫常常涉及武器。然而, 在公共交通中被抢劫的风险很低, 值得保持警惕。 一些犯罪分子冒充 "旅游警察" 来勒索和抢劫旅游者, 包括停止旅游大巴检查身份证明和搜查行李。 有报道说, 游客在他们的食物或饮料被刺后被殴打和抢劫的情况。尽量避免在夜总会或酒吧独自在晚上, 并没有离开你的食物或饮料无人看管。

Priority-96诈骗风险:

信用卡诈骗是非常常见的, SafeAround 建议保持您的信用卡 视线, 每当使用。诈骗事件可以通过以下电话号码报告: +27 11 9705300。

Priority-96运输和出租车风险:

有已知的情况下, 犯罪分子放置在道路上的碎片, 以阻止车辆。 我们建议你不要停下来, 下车去清理障碍物。最好的解决方法是等待另一辆车, 或尝试绕过路边。 在约翰内斯堡机场发生的行李失窃事件。SafeAround 建议您不要在行李中放置贵重物品。等出租车时, 要注意那些可能会帮你提行李的陌生人。保持警惕, 不要把你的财物留在无人看管的状态。 由于安全和顾虑, 不建议使用小巴的士。这些车辆状况不佳, 驾驶员驾驶异常。出于安全考虑, 最好的解决方法是在任何地方乘坐出租车, 幸运的是它比任何欧洲的首都都便宜。

Priority-96自然灾害风险:

印度洋的海啸可能是一种威胁。你可以找到更多的信息全球灾害警报和协调系统.

Priority-96恐怖主义风险:

南非的恐怖主义风险很温和。然而, 恐怖主义是世界性的威胁。

Priority-96女性旅游者风险:

15年前的南非是一个妇女每30秒被强奸的地方。然而, 现在的情况有了很大的改善, 女性旅游者的风险仍然很高。不要单独冒险在大城市或偏僻的村庄的阴暗的邻里, 知道您的周围, 并且尝试不旅行在您自己, 如果可能保持在小组。

点菜

该怎么办?

方位提示:为了不丢失在多亿城市它值得找到约翰内斯堡的二个主要塔: "Hillbrow 塔" 和 "布里布塔"。由于它们都很高, 几乎可以从城市的任何地方看到, 所以把它们作为参考点。对, 从顶部的两个惊人的看法开放给每个人谁不怕高。

中央商业区

这是游客们参观城市的最重要的部分。多年来, 该公司名声不佳, 已不再值得。许多商店, 包括直销店, 艺术画廊和商业中心是绝对安全的白天和黑夜。轻微的犯罪行为经常发生, 但是, 遵循基本的预防措施和持续的警惕会让你在这个领域度过一个无故障的时间。

新城与市场剧场区

城市的文化之心。丰富的充满活力的场地, 该地区将保证您一个愉快和愉快的逗留。主要的干扰是扒手, 不断寻找分心的新人。注意你的财物, 留意你的周围环境。

Braamfontein

著名的大学地区, 和家庭的最大的星期六的市场在城市, 那里有大量的正宗地方的东西可以找到。不过, 要小心, 因为这部分通常不是好的或安全的。不要在夜间独处, 即使白天也要注意扒手。 绝对不是住的地方, 虽然住宿是诱惑便宜。

Fordsburg

前印度区仍有一些印度和巴基斯坦的商店、市场和餐馆。一般来说, 这个地区的人口是穆斯林, 因此没有酒在地方地方服务。当地人是友好的, 该地区是好的, 没有隐藏的危险。

Hillbrow

约翰内斯堡最糟糕的郊区之一毫无疑问, 这不是一个散步的好地方。现在这一带是卖淫、贩毒和碎玻璃的巢穴。不去区域

北郊

这样的郊区: "Greenside"、"Atholl"、"Sandown"、"Fourways" 等都是最美好的居住地。这是中产阶级和上层阶级的家庭生活的地方。约翰内斯堡天文馆、南非国家博物馆、交通博物馆是那里参观最多的景点之一。

亚历山德拉镇

一个有趣的目的地, 有一个导游在面包车中听到的斗争和犯罪的故事, 这是赢得之间的 1980-1990s, 当该地区真的更像一个战区, 而不是一个生活区。现在它仍然是脆弱的, 特别是伦敦的道路应该避免, 而你的驱动器和从桑顿。

 在约翰内斯堡所关注或避免的其他领域:

  • HIV 水平非常高, 所以采取必要的预防措施。
  • 预先计划夜间行程, 使用信誉良好的的士, 避免未亮的偏远地区, 是审慎的做法。
  • 如果你迷路了, 不要太明显, 你只是在商店里问路。
  • 茹贝尔公园、Hillbrow 和伯里亚被认为是禁区

有用信息

如果你要在90天内访问南非旅游, 你不需要签证。在其他情况下, 你需要签证。
南非南特是该国的官方货币。获取当地货币的最简单方法是从 ATM 机提款。最好的兑换率是保证。
约翰内斯堡的天气情况很好;在夏天月 (12月– 2月) 温度到达30° c。 冬天可能是寒冷的, 然而, 雪是非常罕见的。
主要国际机场在约翰内斯堡和开普敦。 如果你正在寻找便宜的航班交易, 你可以找到一些在 JetRadar
如同在任何国家一样, 我们建议旅行者购买旅行保险, 不仅包括医疗问题, 而且还涉及盗窃和个人物品损失。了解更多关于我们旅游保险页

Johannesburg

Johannesburg has a population of around 10 million people, half of which are the residents of the township cold Soweto. Generally, Johannesburg is supposed to be the economic hub of the city, approximately 10% of the South Africa’s GDP generates there. Because of the unequal wealth distribution, the city has its own borders, thus the living conditions are very different. They can vary from the world 1st standards to the world 3rd standards. However, there are plenty of things to discover in Johannesburg and there is no need to avoid it, because of the high crime rate, since following general safety precautions it’s undoubtedly possible to have a safe and enjoyable voyage. In order to make your trip so, SafeAround compiled useful information about all potential risks and dangerous neighborhoods of Johannesburg. So, we will allow you to see on a map the city’s safest and potentially dangerous areas, details on scams and other possible risks, as well as some useful travel advice in order not to let anything spoil such a wonderful journey to the picturesque South African treasures.

SAFETY INDEX

See others cities in South Africa

Warnings & Dangers

Mid Priority-96 OVERALL RISK : HIGH

Johannesburg is ranked 128th out of 162 of most dangerous cities. However, the safety level depends on the district. So, if you exercise a high degree of caution and avoid the troubled areas, your vacation in Johannesburg might only be spoiled by petty theft on a Central station or Saturday market. However, at dark, crime rates are significantly higher, thus we advise refraining from visiting any areas at night or prefer taxi option for traveling.

Mid Priority-96 PICKPOCKETS RISK : MEDIUM

Pickpocketing at shopping centers is common. It is worth to be vigilant of your surroundings, do not leave your valuable unattended. The city center might be overcrowded and numerous pickpockets operate in this area.

Mid Priority-96 MUGGING RISK : HIGH

Muggings and robbery are often and involving weapons. The risks of being mugged in the public transport are low, however, there is worth to stay alert. Some criminals pose as ‘Tourist Police’ to extort and rob tourists, including by stopping tourist buses to check proof of identity and search luggage. There have been reported situations when tourists have been assaulted and robbed after their food or drinks were spiked. Try to avoid being in clubs or bars alone at night, and do not leave your food or beverages unattended.

Mid Priority-96 SCAMS RISK : HIGH

Scams with credit cards are very common, SafeAround recommends to keep your credit card at sight, whenever used. Scam incidents can be reported by the following telephone number: +27 11 9705300.

Mid Priority-96 TRANSPORT & TAXIS RISK : MEDIUM

There are known situations when criminals place debris on roads in order to stop the vehicle. We advise you do not stop and get out of the car to clear the barrier. The best solution is to wait for another car or try to bypass using the roadside. Luggage theft does occur at Johannesburg airport. SafeAround advises you do not place any valuables in your luggage. Waiting for a taxi, be aware of strangers that might offer their help with your suitcases. Be vigilant, and do not leave your belongings unattended. Due to safety and concerns, the use of minibus taxis is not recommended. These vehicles are in poor condition, drivers drive erratically. The best solution for security reasons is taking a taxi wherever you go, luckily it’s significantly cheaper, than in any European capital.

Mid Priority-96 NATURAL DISASTERS RISK : LOW

Tsunamis in the Indian Ocean might be a threat. You can find more info on Global Disaster Alert and Coordination System.

Mid Priority-96 TERRORISM RISK : LOW

There is a moderate risk of terrorism in South Africa. However, the terrorism is a worldwide threat.

Mid Priority-96 WOMEN TRAVELERS RISK : HIGH

South Africa 15 years ago was a place where a woman was raped every 30 seconds. However, nowadays the situation significantly improved, the risks for woman travelers are still very high. Do not venture alone in shady neighborhoods of large cities, or isolated villages, be aware of your surroundings and try don’t travel on your own if possible remain in groups.

Carte

WHAT TO DO?

Orientation tip: In order to not being lost in the multi million city it’s worth to find the two main towers of Johannesburg: “Hillbrow Tower” and “Brixton Tower”. Since they are both very tall and visible almost from any spot of the city, take them as a reference point. Withal, from the top of the both a stunning view opens up for everyone who aren’t afraid of heights.

Central Business district  

This is the most visited part of the city by the tourists. It has had a poor reputation for years which is no longer deserved. Numerous shops, including outlets, art galleries and business centers are absolutely safe during day and night. Minor crimes do occur on a regular basis, however, following basic precautions and constant vigilance will let you spend a trouble-free time in this area.

Newtown and the Market Theatre area

City’s cultural heart. Rich with plenty vibrant venues the area will guarantee you a fun and enjoyable stay. The main disturbance is pickpockets,  in constant search of distracted newcomers. Pay attention to your belongings and be aware of your surroundings.  

Braamfontein

Known as the university area, and home to the biggest Saturday’s market in the city, where plenty of authentic local things can be found. However, be cautious as this part is not generally nice or safe. Avoid being there at night hours alone and be aware of pickpockets even during the day.  Definitely not the place to stay, although accommodation is seductively inexpensive.

Fordsburg

Former Indian district still has some Indian and Pakistani shops, markets and restaurants. Generally, the population of this area is Muslim, thus there is no alcohol served in the local places. Locals are friendly, the area is nice and without hidden dangers.

Hillbrow

One of the worst Johannesburg suburbs. Undoubtedly it is not a nice place to take a stroll. Nowadays this neighborhood is a den for prostitution, drug deals and broken glass. No-go area.

Northern Suburbs

Such suburbs like: “Greenside”, “Atholl”, “Sandown”, “Fourways” and others are the nicest places to live in. This is where middle and upper-class Johannesburg families live. Johannesburg Planetarium, South African National Museum, Museum of Transport are among the most visited attractions there.

Alexandra Township

An interesting destination for having a guided tour in a van hearing the stories of the struggles and crimes, which had been earned between 1980-1990s, when the area was really like more a war zone than a living district. Nowadays it is still vulnerable, especially London road should be avoided while your drive to and from Sandton.

 Other areas of concern or to be avoided in Johannesburg:

  • HIV levels are very high, so take the necessary precautions.
  • It is prudent to plan night-time journeys in advance and to use a reputable taxi, avoid unlit remote areas.
  • If you are lost, don’t make it too obvious that you are, ask directions only in shops.
  • Joubert Park, Hillbrow, and Berea are considered as no-go zones

Useful Information

If you’re visiting South Africa for tourism purposes for a period of up to 90 days, you don’t need a visa. In other circumstances, you’ll need a visa.
South African Rand is an official currency of the country. The easiest way to obtain the local currency is to withdrawals from the ATM machine. The best exchange rate is guaranteed.
Weather conditions in Johannesburg are excellent; during the summer months (December – February) the temperature reaches 30°C. Winter might be cold, however, snow is very rare.
The main international airports are in Johannesburg and Cape Town. If you’re looking for cheap flight deals, you can find some on JetRadar
As in any country, we advise travelers to get a travel insurance that covers not only medical problems but also theft and loss of personal items. Learn more on our travel insurance page